The West Sussex Waste Partnership

In West Sussex the County Council is the ‘Waste Disposal Authority’, responsible for the safe disposal of household waste collected by the district and borough councils. The County Council also provides Household Waste Recycling Sites (HWRSs) where residents can deliver their household waste for recycling and disposal. You can find more information on the sites on

There are seven district and borough councils in West Sussex: Adur District Council, Arun District Council, Chichester District Council, Crawley Borough Council, Horsham District Council, Mid Sussex District Council, and Worthing Borough Council.

The district and borough councils as ‘Waste Collection Authorities’ are responsible for the collection of household waste in their respective areas.

The West Sussex Waste Partnership (WSWP) brings together all of the local authorities in West Sussex with the aim of  working effectively together,  providing the best possible services for their residents.

Statement about the reopening of the Household Waste Recycling Sites in West Sussex:

For more information about the Household Waste Recycling Sites (HWRSs) across West Sussex please visit the West Sussex County Council website.

Before planning your journey, you should:

  • Check that the item(s) you are bringing are accepted at the site you are visiting, as per the list above
  • Check our opening hours and days. Sites will be running their usual summer opening days and hours until Thursday 1st October. Not all sites are open every day, so please make sure to check before making a journey. 

You should continue to use your household collections for recycling and general waste where possible, and only visit the site if the journey is necessary.

Once at the sites there will be certain measures in place for the safety of visitors and staff:

  • The number of vehicles accessing the sites may be restricted. This may lead to queues at some sites, and visitors are asked to respect local residents and businesses by not blocking entrances
  • There will be no pedestrian access at any of the sites under the current social distancing measures
  • Social distancing barriers will be in place. Visitors will be directed into enclosed bays to dispose of their waste
  • Only one person will be allowed to get out of a vehicle unless strictly necessary. Please travel to the sites alone if possible. If other people travel to the site with you, they must remain in the vehicle where possible. Children should always remain within the vehicle
  • Site staff will not be able to help unload your waste and recycling
  • Residents may need to move their vehicle and repark in order to access different bays